The ‘Seven Blunders of the World‘ (aka the Seven Social Sins) is a list that Mahatma Gandhi  gave to his Grandson Arun, written on a piece of paper, on their final day together, shortly before his assassination in 1948.
The Seven Blunders  are:
1 - Wealth without work
2 - Pleasure without conscience
3 - Knowledge without character
4 - Commerce without morality
5 - Science without humanity
6 - Worship without sacrifice
7 - Politics without principle

To this list Arun added: 8 - Rights without responsibilities
This list grew from Gandhi’s search for the roots of violence. He called these acts of passive violence. He said preventing these is the best way to prevent oneself or one’s society from reaching a point of violence.


Leave a comment

    Add comment